Special Needs of a Tech-Intensive Mito Patient

Special Needs of a Tech-Intensive Mito Patient
RSI Smart Gloves

Here I share what it takes to keep me up and functioning and down and resting, too. These lists and notes are drawn from the care and expertise I've received from so many individuals and teams, in health care settings and beyond, that have made such a difference in the quality of my patienthood. I bring a cooperative spirit and collaborative impulse to what I am sharing here to illustratrate that all the pieces fit together. Without the RSI Smart Gloves and the ergonomic keyboards and the many sessions with physical therapists, there would be no list of the Top 30 Apps and Subscriptions that helped me live my best life and do my best work. Over in The Accessibility University, I will include specific sources I’ve discovered that contribute to my adventures in learning how use technology.

Please note that I mention and even recommend products and services below for information/educational purposes only. My site is sponsor-free and ad-free. I am a patient who happens to be a librarian and I wish to provide enough detail to be useful about what I put under the umbrella of special needs.

My medical conditions are listed on the Landing Page.

Meds: Rx and OTC for Mito Cocktail

  • SpectrumNeeds Powder
  • CoQ10 capsules
  • L-Carnitine Rx
  • Other Rx and supplements

Diabetes supplies

  • Accu-Check Guide Meter
  • Pen
  • Test strips
  • Lancet units

Physical and Occupational Therapy

  • 50+ visits in 2020
  • 50+ visits in 2021

Special Equipment

  1. Power wheel chair
  2. Hand and ankle weight sets (3)
  3. Rolling walkers (2)
  4. Cervical spine pillow
  5. Blood pressure monitor
  6. RSI Smart Gloves
  7. Wrist splints
  8. Various ice wraps for hands, wrists and ankles
  9. Neck support pillow

Nutritional Needs

  • Premier Protein Shakes

Therapeutics

  • DoTerra Deep Blue Rub [topical analgesic]
  • Voltaren Gel Rx

Tech hardware & equipment

  1. Lap desks for work and home
  2. Stands for computer notebooks, tablets, and cell phone (see Notes below for mobile devices used)
  3. Ergonomic split keyboards for work and home
  4. Bluetooth headset for handsfree calls on the iPhone [and] to look cool during video conferencing
  5. Over-ear headphones for music and podcasts
  6. In-ear buds for meditation, exercise sessions and reading

Apps and Subscriptions

Here are the top 30 APPS and SUBSCRIPTIONS that helped me live my best life and do my best work in 2021:

  1. Any.do
  2. Audible
  3. Apple Fitness
  4. Apple Health
  5. Apple Home
  6. Apple Music
  7. Apple Podcasts
  8. Be Focused Pro
  9. Bear
  10. cloudLibrary
  11. Coursera
  12. Craft
  13. Dashlane
  14. Day One Premium
  15. Drafts Pro
  16. Feedbin
  17. Forward Movement
  18. GoodNotes
  19. Headspace
  20. Libby
  21. Lire
  22. MedbridgeGO
  23. Moleskine Actions
  24. Moleskine Timepage
  25. MyChart
  26. Overcast
  27. PDF Expert
  28. ScanSnap
  29. Screencasts Online
  30. Voice Dream Reader


Composed in Craft 2.3.2 and edited in iA Writer 6.0.5 and Affinity Photo 1.10.5