I strenuously avoid

  1. Purchasing books from Amazon. An exception is my Audible subscription.
  2. Facebook/Meta participation, personal and professional. My very famous “I don’t do Facebook” declaration [on my personal Facebook account] has stood lonely and coldly for more than a decade: “This is where I tell you that I don’t do Facebook…..”(1)
  3. Initiating conversations or greetings (even brief greetings) to night owls and assorted others who have indicated that they are not morning people. Point taken. Please note I might be much too busy being cheerful and super productive between the hours of 6.15 and 10.30 am to care very much. I won’t get my undies in a bundle about your boundaries. Fact: some very fine people lack capacity to appreciate The Lark, the early risers, and others like me who lark around.
  4. Workplace use or display of coffee mugs with cute or clever sayings or messages that just flat out over promise. Whoa. Problematic.
  5. Being late. I am never late. Nor would I ever state “I am running late.” If you were really running, you would not be late.
  6. Cussing.
  7. Rushing. Rush is a four letter word as I learned when I lived in Tennessee.
  8. Fast food. I like slow eats.
  9. Ball point pens.
  10. Using PowerPoint for presentations. Slide decks and bullet points? I think not.

Note

(1) No to FB and Meta:

Arrow pointing to Facebook page with for Susanna Pathak, December 16, 2011 and message starting with “This is where I’m letting you know that I don’t do facebook…” followed by 3 paragraphs of reasons and showing snip of a New York Times article titled “As Facebook Aims at Millions of Users, Some Are Content to Sit Out” with a thumbs down logo
Susanna's 2011 Statement on Her Facebook Page [screenshot]

And Yes to Meta2!


Composed in Craft 2.3.2. Edited in iA Writer 6.0.5 and Annotable 2.9 on iPad Air